Stephen Lang on Deadpool 2

Posted: 09/01/2016 in Uncategorized

146547.jpg

The man is Cable for frig sakes…I am hoping his latest box office success (Don’t Breathe) will restore him to a viable contender for this role. Here’s hoping…REC

Deadpool 2: Stephen Lang on Possibly Playing Cable

News Simon Brew

9/1/2016 at 7:27AM

Stephen Lang comments on those Cable rumors – and notes that he’s got a few Avatar films to make, too…

A spoiler for the Deadpool post-credits sting lies within

We already know that the sequel to Deadpool is set to bring the character of Cable into the mix. The post-credits scene at the end of the first film revealed as much, and even threw some casting suggestions into the mix. Yet one name that’s been suggested for the role is Stephen Lang, with the actor himself admitting he’d be up for it too.

Lang is currently starring in surprise hit Don’t Breathe, and in an interview to promote the movie, he’s spoken to Mashable about potentially taking on the role of Cable inDeadpool 2.

“I was a fan of the first Deadpool and I’d be delighted to be a part of that sequel, but I haven’t spoken to anyone about it,” he said.

“It kept cropping up on the internet that I should play Cable. The extent of what I did was, one day I was in the gym and I tweeted, ‘let’s lay some Cable’, and that became construed as my campaign for the part. Even now, if someone does fan art, I’ll retweet it because I like keeping it alive. It’s the same studio asAvatar [20th Century Fox], but I don’t know if that makes it easier or more difficult logistically.”

Lang is due to return for James Cameron’s Avatar sequels, which themselves are set to finally commence production in the next 12 months.

“Either way, no one has approached me, and I can’t even say if I’m in the actual conversation. But they must be aware of it, because whoever makes those decisions must be aware of everything. Plus, I think I’d do a pretty bang-up job with the part. Having said that, understand that my obligation is to the largest, most successful film ever made, so Avatar takes precedence,” Lang added.

We wait and see, then. Deadpool 2 doesn’t have a fixed release date yet, but Fox is likely to want to get the movie filming next year at some point. More as we hear it…

Source: Den of Geek
Leave a Reply

